AIADMK, Naveen Patnaik’s BJD Likely To Help PM Narendra Modi

AIADMK, Naveen Patnaik's BJD Likely To Help PM In No-Trust Vote: 10 Facts

New Delhi:  Hectic meetings are being held on both sides of the political divide ahead of tomorrow’s no-confidence motion against the government. Given the NDA’s sheer strength in numbers in parliament’s lower house, there is little doubt about the outcome of the voting. Still both sides are trying to garner every possible vote. The big question will be the decision of the fence sitters — sources in Tamil Nadu’s ruling AIADMK and Naveen Patnaik’s BJD have indicated that both parties will abstain. The AIADMK, sources said, will take part in the discussion and highlight the government’s shortcomings. The other party expected to abstain is Telangana Rashtra Samithi of K Chandrashekar Rao.

Here are the top 10 updates in this big story:

  1. The NDA has 313 members in the 534-member house. The majority mark, however, stands at 268 as some seats are vacant.
  2. The AIADMK, Naveen Patnaik’s BJD and the Telangana Rashtra Samithi together command 68 seats. The rest belongs to parties that are expected to support the motion.
  3. The BJP’s cantankerous ally Shiv Sena has said party chief Uddhav Thackeray will decide which way their 18 lawmakers will vote. Yesterday, Union minister Ananth Kumar claimed the party will vote in favour of the government.
  4. Shiv Sena’s Sanjay Raut said, “During voting, whatever Uddhav Thackeray directs us, will do”.In the budget session, when Chandrababu Naidu’s Telugu Desam Party brought the no-trust motion against the government, Sena announced that it would abstain from voting.
  5. The opposition has made it clear that the discussion and not the voting, is their objective in this no trust motion. The debate will be held from 11 am on Friday. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who will be present in house, will respond to it.
  6. Asked about the matter, UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi, however, told NDTV, “Who says we don’t have the numbers”.
  7. Tamil Nadu Chief Minister E Palaniswami indicated that his party, AIADMK, won’t support the no-trust vote against the BJP government. “The TDP has moved this motion to highlight issues in Andhra Pradesh. No state supported Tamil Nadu when we stalled proceedings in parliament over Cauvery,” he said.
  8. Yesterday, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Ananth Kumar said the opposition may have no confidence on PM Modi’s government, “but I want to make it absolutely clear that the people of the country have full confidence”.
  9. More than 50 opposition lawmakers supported the notice for the No Confidence motion — an extension of Andhra Pradesh’s demand for special status that would involve extensive financial benefits for the state. Earlier this year, party chief and Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu quit the NDA following tussle over the issue.
  10. The BJP, which was accused of stalling the no-trust move last time is seen as changing its approach. Sources said it was because the party felt that once the no-trust vote is debated and defeated, the opposition would not have any excuse to disrupt proceedings in parliament.

Source link

Login/Register access is temporary disabled